

Language Policy

Formulated by the Education Ministry of the Indian government in the 1968 National Policy Resolution, it provides that in all governments across India, there shall be three languages to be taught: English, as a mandate; Hindi, too, is compulsory, both in Hindi-speaking states and non-Hindi-speaking states; and finally, the third language is the local language of the region where the school is located.

The three- language formula has taken multiple forms in India on the basis of states and their own official and local languages. While Hindi and English remain common to all, they change from first language to second and third languages depending on that particular state's government.

The basic purpose of the three-language formula was, apart from the overt objective of making widespread the awareness of Hindi and English as national languages, the obscure objective of increasing multilingualism in children across the country. Multilingualism, as has been scientifically proven, not only broadens a child's horizons but also is conducive to them becoming more creative and more socially tolerant.

